It’s the month of Me…let me explain.

January is the month of Me!  This month I will be turning 43, holy smokes!  It’s hard to believe only because that means my parents are almost 70 and my kids are almost adults.  CRAZY! I will be taking the month to introduce you to things that make me ME, things I love, maybe even things that I don’t love so much, because after all, that’s what makes me ME.  

First a few demographics.  I am a woman, almost 43, Midwesterner born and raised.  I have my roots in Norway, Finland, Germany, Austria. I love lefse and beer.  I have been to Germany and Austria, but one day I will make it to Norway and Finland too.  

I have two daughters who are at the moment 17 and 13.  They live most of the time with their Dad, but I see them all the time because we only live 5 minutes apart.  If we wanted to, we could walk to each other’s homes in less than an hour. As they have gotten older I see them less and less, with their work, activities, and friends, this makes me sad, but I know it’s a part of growing up for them and for me.

Visiting most of my family requires me to hop in the car for a road trip.  My dad and stepmom live in Northern Minnesota, and my mother lives in Michigan.  I have several aunts and uncles in my vicinity, as well as cousins, but it’s not the same as having immediate family close by.  That makes me sad sometimes. My sister Melanie is the closest. She’s only a half hour away thankfully, but everyone else is a trek.

Me and my sister Melanie from Christmas this year.

I have my college degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in Marketing.  I picked that major after going through some other majors on my college journey because I figured I could do anything with it. That logic is correct, but it gives me too many options which is very overwhelming for this introvert.  I have gone in several directions from merchandising in a catalog, data analysis, and database creation, but I am currently working in technical support at a business very close to home. I like helping people all day, but when I get home I am ready to do something creative like cooking, baking, painting, or taking my dog for a walk.

I have discovered that if I don’t do something creative daily it really affects my mood.  Another thing that I must do daily is go outside. I have a dog which provides the perfect excuse to do this multiple times a day.  Not that I need an excuse, I’m a grown up afterall.

So that’s just a start to what makes Gretchen who she is.  Now comes the fun part! Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.